1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Spending an extra year in undergrad to take grad level courses?

1. Jul 9, 2013 #1

QuantumCurt

Education Advisor

Hey everyone. This is something I've been wondering about lately. I'm currently in a community college, with plans to transfer to a university, and eventually go on for my doctorate(I'm majoring in physics). How unusual would it be to spend an extra year as an undergrad to take more upper level courses?

I know it's fairly common for undergrads to take a few graduate level courses while still in undergrad, but because of the fact that I'm transferring from a community college, I'm not going to be able to do that, and still graduate in 2 years after transferring. I've figured out some rough potential schedules, and I'd most likely be able to complete my degree requirements in two years after transferring, although that depends on different factors like scheduling and such.

I'd really like to take a few graduate courses before grad school, simply because I feel like I'd be much more prepared for it. Specifically, I'd want to take a graduate level sequence in QM, a semester course in GR, and a semester course in subatomic physics. I'd also try to take a grad level partial differential equations course, and possibly something like Lie Groups/Lie Algebra. If the tentative schedule that I've figured out actually stuck, the hypothetical third year after transferring would consist solely of grad level classes, 3 per semester. Is this something that would be widely discouraged, or considered rather unusual?

Any input would be much appreciated. :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 9, 2013 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor