1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Starting the Path to becoming a Theoretical/Astrophysicist from Middle School

1. Aug 29, 2010 #1
    Hi all!
    For a year or two, I've been extremely interested in physics for the past two years.
    I've decided for sure that I want to be a Theoretical or Astrophysicist now.
    I'm currently in the first quarter of my Eighth Grade Year.
    All of middle school I've been an A/High B student in gifted classes for all four subjects.
    I am on the main team of my school's academic bowl team.
    I've taken the SAT with the Duke TIP program in the 7th grade, and got a 1790.
    I want to become a Ph.d in Physics at Stanford University
    I am a beginner in Java Programming, and am going to start (or try to start) C, and possibly FORTRAN
    I'm very interested in things like how the Universe was formed (Big Bang Theory) and other things like Quantam Mechanics and String Theory
    I'd like to ask you guys a few questions based on this information about me..

-What should I start doing to prepare for a career in Physics?
    -What classes should I take in High School (A magnet school called GSMST)? (I'm aiming to have only AP/Accelerated/Honors Classes)
    -What are some good ways to catch the attention of colleges and get scholarships? (My ideal college would be Stanford University)
    -Do you have any suggestions to improve my chances for getting into better colleges, and improving my success in becoming a Physics Ph.d?

Thank you for reading this and thanks in advance for your responses!

Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 29, 2010 #2