1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Struggling with Newton's Second Law Equations

1. Oct 11, 2014 #1
    Hello,

I am a second year undergrad student majoring in Astronomy and Computer Science. I am having a hard time with my physics courses for the following reasons:

1) SmartPhysics is the text we use (if you can call it a text...). Basically it is an online HW and "pre-lecture" system that allows students to watch a 15 minute lecture that covers ALL topics of a unit. The textbook is very short and is verbatum what the pre-lectures give you (with few exceptions). My instructor does not lecture. We are told to watch the pre-lecture and come with questions. However, the pre-lecture does not go through very many examples and therefore leaves me with little understanding of how to stretch and apply the methods that they use to other problems. Basically, I don't know what I don't know until I start my HW.

2) We are often way ahead on HW and pre-lectures vs. the labs/quizzes and few practice problems that we do in class. So, by the time we get around to discussing it the HW is usually due that day or the next.

3) I struggled in my Classical Mechanics course with Newton's Second Law. My FBD's are usually spot on, but I have a little trouble translating those into second law equations and I struggle even more with manipulating the equations (say I have 3 unknowns & 3 equations.... I often go in circles and end up with a = a or a =1). Now, I am in the beginning of Electricity and Magnetism, but we are covering rotational mechanics first.