SU(2) symmetry of the ammonia molecule?

In summary, the ammonia molecule exhibits SU(2) symmetry due to its tetrahedral structure and the presence of four identical hydrogen atoms. This symmetry allows for the interchanging of the hydrogen atoms without changing the overall state of the molecule, making it a useful tool in understanding molecular properties and reactions.
"pi"mp
Hi,
I'm an undergraduate taking the basic quantum classes and on my own, I'm trying to wrap my mind around how symmetry and group theory applies in Q.M. and theoretical physics in general; it's coming along slowly but surely!

Can someone please explain why the ammonia molecule is said to exhibit SU(2) symmetry? I can't imagine how the two symmetric states of ammonia have anything to do with the group of 2x2 complex unitary matrices of det=1.

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Where did you hear that?

Can someone please explain why the ammonia molecule is said to exhibit SU(2) symmetry? I can't imagine how the two symmetric states of ammonia have anything to do with the group of 2x2 complex unitary matrices of det=1.
The ammonia molecule has two states, the first one |1> in which the N is above the three H's, the other one |2> where the N is below them. Both states have the same energy E (two-fold degeneracy).

Moreover, any orthogonal linear combinations of |1> and |2> will also have the same energy E. The linear combinations can have complex coefficients, but must preserve the norm of the state. In other words, the most general state with energy E is given by U|ψ> where U is a 2x2 matrix and <ψ|UU|ψ> = 1. That is, U is unitary. But the U(2) symmetry is actually SU(2) since one of the transformations just adds a phase factor, which doesn't count!

Last edited:
Ah, so why is that considered a "symmetry?" I always thought a symmetry was of the form: "_____ is left invariant upon action by ____" What is being left invariant? Just the amplitudes?

I ask again - where did you see that?