1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Switching from medicine to physics

1. Oct 19, 2006 #1
    Hi guys, I have been excepted into a Jamp program here in Texas which is an early exceptance program to medical school. I have been pursuing a bachelors degree for the past 2 1/2 years in biolgy so I could go to medical school. I like biology and medical science but not as much as theoratical physics. It has taken me the past couple of years to mature and realize that physics is what I truely want to study. So what I plan on doing is droping out of the Jamp program and pursuing an education in physics. I should have pursued physics from the begining but my parents had persuaded me to pursue medicine. My qeustion is what should I do, should I finish my BS in biology and then pursue a grad program in physics or should I stop taking classed for the BS in biology and start working towards a physics degree. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

fournier

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 19, 2006 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Why do you think you can just enroll in a "grad program in physics" with a biology degree?

Zz.

4. Oct 19, 2006 #3
    well, I would advise you to stop with the biology and work toward a physics BS and THEN look into going for a physics Ph.D. You say you're only in your 2 1/2 year so you won't be that behind....how much math and physics have you had? You say you are interested in physics, so interested that you decided on making a drastic career change, so I'd hope you have significant physics and math background already. Keep in mind, real physics is nothing like "pop physics" books, and most physicists don't work as "theoretical physicists", but work as experimental physicists.