Switching Research Groups Without Burning Bridges

In summary: Personally, if things don't get better within 6-12 months, it's time to consider looking for a new lab.In summary, the graduate student is considering switching research groups because they are unsatisfied with working conditions, lack adequate feedback, and are difficult to work with. The graduate student is also considering looking for a new group if things do not improve within the next year.
chill_factor
I am seriously considering switching research groups.

To be brief: I am a graduate student in condensed matter physics who had just passed the PHD candidate qualification exam. I have been working in my current lab for a year. I am unsatisfied with my working conditions in terms of interactions with my advisor and a senior lab member. I do not believe I am getting adequate feedback or direction from my advisor. The senior lab member is very difficult to work with but I cannot avoid working with him.

I believe either reason alone is enough to start thinking about switching groups, but both combined make it very difficult to justify staying.

My worries: I already switched once during my first semester, though for good reason. I do not want to burn bridges with my current advisor. How do I do this? Should I talk to the graduate coordinator first? What about my committee?

Physics news on Phys.org
I would talk to your graduate coordinator or the associate chair in charge of graduate students. Changing research group or supervisors is not all that uncommon and this person will usually have some experience with this kind of thing and be in a position where you *should* be able to speak confidentially about your concerns. The longer you wait, the more difficult it's going to be.