Symmetric difference in sets

In summary, the proof of (X⊕Y)⊕(Y⊕Z) = X⊕Z involves showing that the symmetric difference is associative and that the symmetric difference of a set and an empty set yields the original set. This implies that the symmetric difference forms a group operation and thus (X⊕Y)⊕(Y⊕Z) = X⊕Z is true for any sets X, Y, and Z.
Uiiop

Homework Statement

There is a symmetric difference in sets X & Y, X Y is defined to be the sets of elements that are either X or Y but not both
Prove that for any sets X,Y & Z that
(X[itex]\oplus[/itex]Y)[itex]\oplus[/itex](Y[itex]\oplus[/itex]Z) = X[itex]\oplus[/itex]Z

Homework Equations

[itex]\oplus[/itex] = symmetic difference

The Attempt at a Solution

i can see it in the venn diagams, but I am not good at converting what i see into set statements this is my attempt in words

the symmetric difference of A and C is contained in the union of the symmetric difference of A and B and that of B and C because the symmetric difference of two repeated symmetric differences is the repeated symmetric difference of the join of the two multisets, where for each double set both can be removed.

i don't have a clue how to show that properly in subsets etc that why i need some help

Physics news on Phys.org
How did you define [itex]X\oplus Y[/itex] in symbols??

You can split the proof up in this parts:
- Associativity: show that [itex]X\oplus (Y\oplus Z)=(X\oplus Y)\oplus Z[/itex]
- Show that [itex]Y\oplus Y=\emptyset[/itex]
- Show that [itex]Y\oplus \emptyset=Y[/itex]

(this actually implies that [itex]\oplus[/itex] forms a group operation). These three things together imply what you want to show, do you see that?

ok here is my revised attempt at the answer with your help:

In order to prove that (X⊕Y)⊕(Y⊕Z) = X⊕Z you must imply that ⊕ forms a group operation this proof is split up into three parts

The symmetric difference is associative which means that
(X⊕Y)⊕(Y⊕Z)= (Y⊕Y)⊕(X⊕Z) --I think that is correct?--