Tablet/Tablet PC for notetaking/other?

• Thread starter gol3tron
  • Start date
  • Tags
    pc
In summary, Adam says that a tablet is good for viewing electronic resources, taking notes, and reading textbooks, but they are not good for taking handwritten notes. He recommends trying out different tablets to see if the handwriting is even worth it. He also recommends getting a Tablet-PC, not a "touch-based tablet."
gol3tron
Tablet/Tablet PC for notetaking/other?

Hey PF,

The other day I was sitting in my office looking around and I counted about 50 textbooks and mountains upon mountains of notes/notebooks from classes, loose papers, assignments graded and to be graded, binders, journal articles, old Phys. Today issues, etc. You get the idea.

Now, aside from the fact that my office is kind of a mess (which is OK, because I'm a graduate student), I'm thinking to myself, "has the digital age left us behind?" Wouldn't it be great if we could reliably take notes from class on a tablet and save them as PDF files? Wouldn't it be great to have all your textbooks and notes digitized and sync'd on the interwebs so you wouldn't have to make that random trip back to the lab because you left that one binder that has that one page of notes in it that you just happen to need?

Personally, I'm looking into getting a tablet to this end for a while but have been consistently depressed that the things cost so damn much! I submit this to PF in hopes that there's someone out there who has found a good solution that isn't forbiddingly expensive and works reasonably well.

Thanks,
Adam

Computer science news on Phys.org