Tensor pertubration: Hello to everyone

In summary: MORE PERFECTLY.But isnt that just like saying I can take a cake and cut it into any shape I want, as long as I cut it evenly?No, because if I perturb the cake too much then it will not look like the original cake.
darashayda
Hi

I just joined the forum and wanted to thank everyone about your informative posts.

I am currently studying the mathematical foundations of the general relativity and may need some help.

My first question:

Is there a way to perturb the fundamental tensor to obtain another metric tensor?

Or, as I guess, once fundamental tensor is found, it is very hard to make slightest changes!?

What I mean is can I perturb gij to say gij + e and still the new perturbation stays a metric?

Dara

Physics news on Phys.org
One often considers a one-parameter family of metrics.

Possibly interesting reading:

http://link.aip.org/link/?JMAPAQ/26/2581/1 (Geroch and Lindblom) "Is perturbation theory misleading in general relativity?"

http://link.aip.org/link/?JMAPAQ/31/2441/1 (Damour and Schmidt) "Reliability of perturbation theory in general relativity"

(Wald) "General Relativity" chapter 7 has a discussion of perturbation.

Last edited by a moderator:
Perturb to a constant curvature metric, even

darashayda said:
Is there a way to perturb the fundamental tensor to obtain another metric tensor?

I guess it depends upon what you mean by "perturbation".