Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The Biggest Mosquito I Have Ever Seen

1. May 24, 2007 #1

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

I was setting up my telescope and I'm usually pretty good about keeping the door closed, but when I came back inside I thought I had a hummingbird in my den. Here's a picture of him taken shortly after his untimely death....

He was more impressive alive, with the big leg span, but unfortunately, those photos didn't come out.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. May 24, 2007 #2
    I'm no expert but I believe that is a male mosquito which are always much larger but harmless. I don't believe they bite. It's the smaller female mosquitos that draw blood to lay eggs. This is from my experience in Alaska, where the mosquito is considered the state bird.

4. May 24, 2007 #3
    thats one heck of a skeeter

5. May 24, 2007 #4
    i've killed a couple like these in my apt. nasty creatures. usually come into the house if the door is left open, especially in summer.

6. May 24, 2007 #5

Pythagorean

Gold Member

not completely sure, but if it looked like this alive:
    [​IMG]

Then you just killed a mosquito eater!

I don't know... but that doesn't look like any mosquito I see in Alaska, could be a different kind.

7. May 24, 2007 #6

russ_watters

No, that's not it. The wings were flat against the tail. Not a great photo, but here's the Before...

Attached Files:

8. May 24, 2007 #7

russ_watters

9. May 24, 2007 #8
    We get big ones like that here.

10. May 25, 2007 #9

Pythagorean

Gold Member

11. May 25, 2007 #10

Danger

Gold Member

I was thinking along the same line as Pythagorean. We have what are called 'mosquito hawks', which look very much like huge mosquitos but in fact prey upon them.

12. May 25, 2007 #11