The Normal Zeeman Effect and Hydrogen States

In summary: Prob:(ψ3) = 1/4 [4+2e^-i(ω1-ω2)t-2e^-i(ω2-ω1)t] = 1Oops, so I made two mistakes, one of which I've now corrected, and the second will be corrected in the following post.So, the probability for state |ψ1> is:Prob:(ψ1) = 1/4 [1+e^-i(ω1-ω2)t+e^-i(ω2-ω1)t] = 1/2 [1+cos((ω1-ω2)t)]and the probability for state |ψ2> is:Prob
mrjohns
I'm studying the hydrogen atom and have this question. Apparently it can be solved without perturbation theory, however I'm having trouble justifying it.

Homework Statement

153wwgi.png

2. The attempt at a solution

Avoiding perturbation theory I simply get:

E = E(n) - constant*(mh) where m is the angular momentum number not mass

Which seems a little too easy.

For the second part I can see the initial t=0 wavefunction is normalised no problem, but when I apply the time evolution operator e^(iEt)/h things get messy.

Am I right in thinking the probability for the third state | 2 1 0 > is just zero for all time?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello mrjohns. Welcome to PF!

mrjohns said:
Avoiding perturbation theory I simply get:

E = E(n) - constant*(mh) where m is the angular momentum number not mass

Which seems a little too easy.

That looks good.

For the second part I can see the initial t=0 wavefunction is normalised no problem, but when I apply the time evolution operator e^(iEt)/h things get messy.
Can you show a little more detail. It shouldn't be messy.

Am I right in thinking the probability for the third state | 2 1 0 > is just zero for all time?
Yes.

Thanks for the reply.

If I say the energies are E=E(n)-E(b)*mh I get by time evolution:

|psi(t)> = 1/sqr(2) [ e^-i(E(n)+E(b))t | 2 1 -1 > - e^-i(E(n)-E(b))t | 2 1 1 > ]

Which by Eulers formula:

=1/sqrt(2) { [ cos[(-E(n)-E(b))t] + isin[(-E(n)-E(b))t] ] | 2 1 -1 > - [ cos[(-E(n)+E(b))t] + isin[(-E(n)+E(b))t] ] | 2 1 1 > }

Which is normalised for all time, since (cos(x)+isin(x))(cos(x)-isin(x))=1