1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The right degree for R&D in Biomedical Engineering

1. Mar 7, 2014 #1
    I graduated last spring with a degree in Applied Physics and minors in biomedical engineering and mathematics. I recently was accepted to the Masters of Engineering in biomedical engineering at Colorado State University but am looking eventually to move into the M.S. program or possibly even a Ph.d. I love research and have been doing some sort or another since I was a freshman and would like to do research and development in industry or possibly work in a public sector research lab. I don't really want to go into academia, and even if I did the jobs are very competitive. I have been on the job market for the past year with no avail, not a lot of people looking for physics BS, but even my engineering friends (BS) who have gotten jobs are almost entirely in process engineering, quality assurance, or field support not R and D. My question is between and M.E., M.S. or Ph.d what degree is best, and will open the most job opportunities for research and design particularly in medical imaging and medical devices.

Thanks \

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 7, 2014 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I think that's too broad of a question to get a real valid answer for.

Regardless of your degree, most entry level positions are unlikly to give you an R&D project and say run with it, unless you get in on the ground floor with a startup maybe.

One thing you may want to consider though is that if you aim for a PhD in one of these fields you can also aim to get involved in a project that can transition into something marketable when you're finished - either as your own venture or something that others are likely to pick up on.

4. Mar 9, 2014 #3