Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

The speed of light in a vacuum?

1. Sep 18, 2006 #1
    Premise A: The constant c is the speed of light in a perfect or absolute vacuum.

Premise B: A perfect or absolute vacuum is a practical impossibility.

Conclusion (C): The speed of light in a vacuum is a purely theoretical concept.

Note that I am, or consider myself, a philosopher. If I am a physicist, I am at best a classical physicist. I am not asking for highly advanced equations as a response to my argument. I just want to know whether it is valid (i.e., whether the conclusion follows from the premises) and whether it is "true", i.e., whether it is probable that my premises are correct. Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2006 #2
    vacuums are not impossible. Yes, a reasonably sized vacuum is impossible, there will always be radiation inside of it. However if you go sub-microscopic there are vacuums all over.

4. Sep 18, 2006 #3
    How do you know? Have you run any experiment that proves your statement?

5. Sep 19, 2006 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

If I remember correctly there is about 1 hydrogen atom per cubic mile in deep space. Pretty good vacuum between hydrogen atoms isn't there?

I presume that your "A perfect or absolute vacuum is a practical impossibility" was referring to "in the lab" which is irrelevant to the question of "speed of light in the vacuum".

6. Sep 19, 2006 #5

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

First of all, you need to understand WHY light appears to have a different speed in a medium. Once you understand that, THEN you can figure out why, for example, it is so difficult to detect any variation of the speed of light in air, for example, when compared to a "vacuum". Thus, even in air, we already have, for all practical purposes, the vacuum speed of light.