1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Thermal conductivity value of (.17-.20)W/m.K

1. Feb 9, 2012 #1
    I was hoping someone could help me with a project I am doing. I have contacted a manufacturing company thatmakes thermal wrap material, and I need to see if this will work for my project. According to the manufacturer the material is 1/16" thick - this info was also given to me by the manufacturer:

.17-.20 W/mK (1000 degrees C)

I'm basically just trying to figure out how this formula and the data given to me, applies in the real world? I basically need to know to what extend thermal leakage will happen with the material. So if I have a pipe with 1000 degrees F flowing through it, and the pipe is wrapped with this thermal material, how much heat will actually be coming off the material into the surrounding environment. Basically what would the surface temperature of the thermal material be? Hope that makes sense. Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 9, 2012 #2
    This is a bit tricky due to convection. It works like this:

The power going out of the pipe is (if the insulation is not very thick):
    [tex]P=0.2 \frac{A \Delta T}{d}[/tex]