1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Time Constant Induction question

1. Jul 17, 2014 #1
    Hi all, I need your help with a Time constant question? I am studying for an exam via distance learning and don't feel they have covered this question, question taken from past paper.

2. A coil of inductance 2 H and unknown resistance is connected to a D.C. supply of
    100 volts. After 4 ms the current has risen to 75% of its final steady state value.
    Calculate EACH of the following:
    (a) the resistance by the coil;
    (b) the energy stored in the coil when the current has reached its steady state value;
    (c) the time taken for the current to fall to 50% of its steady state value when the supply
    is switched off.

The question I am stuck on is a, If I can find out what 75% is I can then find out full current and time constant to to transpose, tc=L/R?

I understand 1 tc is 63.2% and 5 tc is 100%

Thank you in advanced.

Wayne

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2014 #2

NascentOxygen

Staff: Mentor

Hi Wayne. Welcome to Physics Forums. :wink:

Can you write the full equation that describes the rise of the current vs. time?

4. Jul 17, 2014 #3
    i = I (1-e (-t/tc))
    i =instantaneous current
    I final current I=v/r

5. Jul 17, 2014 #4

NascentOxygen

So at t=4ms equate this to 75% of If.

You know that value of the final current, If.

6. Jul 17, 2014 #5
    Sorry you lost me! I don't know i as not given and cant calculate I as don't know r to calculate I=v/r

7. Jul 17, 2014 #6

BruceW

Homework Helper

but they do tell you that 'i' is 75% of 'I'. So looking at your equation i = I (1-e (-t/tc)) Can you rearrange, so that you don't actually need to find 'i' and 'I' separately?

8. Jul 17, 2014 #7