Too late to pursue Computer Engineering at age 27?

In summary, Sarah Lawrence is a good school, but their science program may not be great for someone with little experience.
undisclosed
Hello.
I have been contemplating whether or not I should start pursuing a degree in CE, EE, or Comp Sci. I currently work as a wildland firefighter and am not happy with what I do. I started to learn programming about 9 months ago with various online tools such as Codecademy and taking online courses through Coursera. So far I enjoy programming and the challenges and opportunities it has to offer. I have then since had a desire to get closer to the hardware of computers and started to read Digital Design by Morris Mano. I find the information to be intriguing and really enjoy learning and doing the problems from this book. In high school and college I was good at math and have been also taking Calculus classes online through Khan Academy and Coursera and have not found it to be difficult. I don't have a lot of experience with physics. Like the thread title says, I am currently 27 and I don't have a lot of hands on experience with programming languages or computer hardware , mostly just classwork type of problems. Being so old with so little experience I'm worried that it is too late for me to start down this path or if I do succeed in getting my degree that an employer would be turned off by my age, as I would be 32 or 33 by the time I graduated. I would appreciate honest answers to these questions because I would really like to get quality feedback before I made any decisions. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org