1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Torque/angular momentum/etc questions

1. Nov 22, 2008 #1
    I'm studying for a test (YIKES!) by doing practice mc questions, which unfortunately do not have the answers to or don't understand the answer. Can someone(s) check my answers and explain what I did wrong?

A rod of negligible mass is pivoted at a point that is off center, so that length l1 is different from length l2. The figures above show two cases in which masses are suspended from the ends of the rod. In each case the unknown mass m is balanced by a known mass, M1 or M2, so that the rod remains horizontal. What is the value of m in terms of the known masses?

The answer is E, but I have no idea where that came from. So far I have

ml2= M1l2
    M2l1 = ml2

Where do I go from there?

The rest of them I don't have the answer key.

For 2 and 3

A sphere of mass M, radius r, and rotational inertia I is released from rest at the top of an inclined plane of height h as shown above.

2. If the plane is frictionless, what is the speed vcm of the center of mass of the sphere at the bottom of the incline?

A because it the plane is friction and it slips so all the energy is translational.

3. If the plane has friction so that the sphere rolls without slipping, what is the speed vcm of the center of mass at the bottom of the incline?

Same set of answers as #2. This one I don't understand.

I think I used use U = Ktrans + Krot but still can't rearrange it to get one of the answer choices...

4. A wheel of 0.5 m radius rolls without slipping on a horizontal surface. The axle of the wheel advances at constant velocity, moving a distance of 20 m in 5 s. The angular speed of the wheel about its point of contact on the surface is

(A) 2 radians s-1
    (B) 4 radians s-1