Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Transformation to local inertial frame

1. Jan 22, 2014 #1
    I've been working on a problem that I can't seem to get started on. Here is how it is posted:

Metric of a space is:
    [itex] ds^2 = (1+2\phi^2)dt^2 - (1-2\phi)(dx^2+dy^2+dz^2)[/itex], where [itex] |\phi | << 1 [/itex] everywhere. Given a point [itex](t_0 , x_0 , y_0, z_0)[/itex] find a coordinate transformation to a locally inertial frame to first order in [itex]\phi[/itex]. At what rate does this frame accelerate with respect to the original coordinates (to first order in [itex]\phi[/itex])?

So far I know that I have to find a transformation that transforms the metric to the Minkowski metric, [itex]\eta_{ab}[/itex] so that [itex]ds^2 = \eta_{ab}dx'^a dx'^b [/itex] but I'm not sure how to get started on this.

I'm studying this myself so I have no instructor to ask so hopefully someone can point me along the right geodesic in this space of confusion. ;)

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 22, 2014 #2

Mentz114

Gold Member

If you start with an ansatz that the transformation (##{\lambda^a}_\hat{a}##) is diagonal with components ##a,b,c,d## on the diagonal then

##{\lambda^a}_\hat{a}{\lambda^b}_\hat{b}g_{ab}= \lambda.g.\lambda^T = diag(a^2g_{00},b^2g_{11},c^2g_{22},d^2g_{33})##

4. Jan 22, 2014 #3
    Thank you for your reply. :) Swift action in here!

I am not sure I understand your notation, so let me make a quick check to see if I got it right:
    [itex] {\lambda^a}_\hat{a} [/itex]: The matrix that transforms coordinates ##x^a## to what I denoted as primed coordinates ##x'^a##?

The middle part of your equation: ##\lambda.g.\lambda^T## - what does the . mean? I'm used to ##g## meaning the determinant of the matrix ##g_{ab}##, so does ##\lambda## have the same meaning or it is simply short notation for the ##{\lambda^a}_\hat{a}##-matrix?