1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Trig Problems for physics course

1. Sep 8, 2007 #1
    I am a very good math student and trig is something that clicks to me. However, my main problem is actually understanding the question. There are two questions which I don't understand from an English point of view.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Question 1:
    A man surveying a mine measures a length AB=220 m, due east with a dip of 6 degrees and 45', then a length BC = 325 m due south with a dip of 10 degrees 15'. How much deeper is C than A?

I don't know what 'dip' means, but I am assuming it means 'angle of depression'.

Question 2: At a certain point the angle of elevation of a mountain peak is 48 deg 30'; at a distance of three km farther away in the same horizontal plain its angle of elevation is 39 deg 45'. Find the distance of the top of the mountain above the horizontal plain and the horizontal distance from the first point of observation to the peak.

2. Relevant equations

cosine law.

pythagorean theorem.

3. The attempt at a solution

Question 1: See the q1 attached picture. I deduced, using imaginary right angles for the angle of B to be 86.5 degrees. Then using cosine law I got the length of AC to be 381.176 m. So this means C is 381.176m deeper than A. I understand that the diagram is actually in 3D-Space. Was my approach correct? Were my angles of depression correctly placed?

Question 2: See the q2 attached picture. I solved all the missing angles and sides a, b, c.
    but I have no idea what the question is asking me for. It is very confusing.

my a=8.356 km, b=9.444 km and c=12.61 km.

Thank you.

Attached Files:

• q1.JPG
      File size:
      6.2 KB
    • q2.JPG
      File size:
      9.1 KB
  2. jcsd