1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Undergrad searching for marketable skills

1. Feb 11, 2012 #1
    I've read all about how it's next to impossible to find a job in academia after grad school. Frankly, after all of the horror stories, I'm still not sure what to do. Being a professor still sounds like my dream job, but if the prospects are really that poor, I don't know if I could move around the country in search of postdocs my whole life.

Anyway, I'm still pretty conflicted, but I'm trying to do some research into what sorts of skills I would need to pick up to work in industry. I still want to get a Phd for sure, but I don't want to fall into the trap of only being qualified for academia. Since I'm only a first-year physics undergrad, my hope is that I'll have enough time to develop a more balanced skillset if I start early.

So, to the point, my question is this: What could I do as an undergrad to develop marketable skills for the tech industry?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 11, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey Opus_723.

This is my opinion for what its worth, but some importance skills I see include a little programming, a little statistics, a lot of communication skills that are both technical and non-technical, and basically a good attitude to do whatever needs to be done.

The non-technical stuff is important because in a lot of jobs you will have to tell someone who doesn't know what an integral is what your analysis really means. Whether is done with a written report, a powerpoint presentation, or an oral delivery of some kind it still is important.

Also again the ability to pick things up as you need to: very important. If you don't want this kind of environment and want to have something more relaxing, then I don't recommend this route.