Understanding the (polarized) cross section for Compton Scattering by electrons

• I
  • Thread starter JD_PM
  • Start date

Summary:

I am studying the derivation of the polarized cross-section for Compton Scattering by electrons (i.e. both initial and final electron and photon states are set) from Mandl & Shaw (M&S)'s QFT book (chapter 8, section 8.6) and vanhees71's Manuscript (6.5.1 Compton Scattering).

Main Question or Discussion Point

I have specific questions, but let's first give context.

Initially we have an electron with momentum ##p=(E, \vec p)## and spin state ##u_r (\vec p)## and a photon with momentum ##k=(\omega, \vec k)## and polarization state ##\epsilon_s (\vec k)##.
Finally we have ##p'=(E', \vec p')##, ##u_r' (\vec p')##, ##k'=(\omega', \vec k')##, ##\epsilon_s' (\vec k')##

I understand that the differential-cross section for Compton Scattering by electrons is given by (more details here):

$$\frac{d \sigma}{d \Omega} = \frac{m^2 \omega'}{16 \pi^2 E E' \omega v_{rel}} \Big[ \Big( \frac{\partial(E'+\omega')}{\partial \omega'}\Big)_{\theta \phi} \Big]^{-1} |\mathscr{M}|^2 \ \ \ \ (1)$$

Where ##(\theta, \phi)## are the polar angles of ##\vec k'## and ##d \Omega = \sin \theta d \theta d \phi## is the corresponding infinitesimal solid angle. We take ##\vec k## as the polar coordinate axis, so that ##\vec k \cdot \vec k' = \omega \omega' \cos \theta## (where ##\cos \theta## arises due to the definition of the dot product).

Conservation of momentum gives

$$p+k=p'+k' \ \ \ \ (2)$$

The Feynman Amplitudes associated to these two figures are as follows

?hash=f39bdc901db8a54b4efaa3847f3d1c3f.jpg

$$\mathscr{M}=\mathscr{M}_a+\mathscr{M}_b \ \ \ \ (3)$$

$$\mathscr{M}_a = -i e^2 \frac{\bar u' \gamma^{\mu} \epsilon_{\mu}' (\gamma^{\mu} f_{\mu}+m) \gamma^{\mu} \epsilon_{\mu} u}{2(pk)}, \ \ \ \ \mathscr{M}_b = i e^2 \frac{\bar u' \gamma^{\mu} \epsilon_{\mu}' (\gamma^{\mu} g_{\mu}+m) \gamma^{\mu} \epsilon_{\mu}' u}{2(pk')} \ \ \ \ (4)$$

Where