Unexpected error while running hello world code on vs studio

In summary, the conversation discusses a person's attempt at writing a C program to print "hello world". They mention their lack of experience with programming and their use of different tools, such as a Linux terminal and Visual Studio. The conversation also touches on the error message that the person encountered and suggests using Google or forums like StackOverflow to find solutions. Finally, it is mentioned that the correct way to compile and run a C program is through the use of commands such as "gcc" and "./a.out".
randomgamernerd

Homework Statement

: [/B]Write a C program to print hello world

2. The attempt at a solution:
I am completely new to programming.
I am learning C at present.
In my college, we use linux. Since my pc has windows installed so I am using cygwin terminal to use linux commands from windows.
I am currently using visual studio.
I tried to write the first program hello world.
Capture..JPG

But could not figure out the error.

Attachments

• Capture..JPG
    Capture..JPG
    17.4 KB · Views: 504
Physics news on Phys.org
C is a compiled language. You cannot run the source code (file with the .c extension) directly. That file must be compiled into an executable file.
It has been years since I have looked at C though.

I recently took a Python class, and now am working on R for a Micromasters program. One thing that often sheds some light is "Googling the error message".

You should try it. When I did it with your error message, one of the search results that I received, is this StackOverflow post:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/18450014/syntax-error-near-unexpected-token

In reading this, it reminded me of what is going on. The person asking this question was trying to run the .c file directly, just as you were. It appears that they give the proper steps to take for gcc.