Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools University to study Computer Science

1. May 1, 2010 #1
    Hello,

I am a Dutch high school student. Next year I will be going to University to study Computer Science. This summer I want to prepare for this study. Which books/online courses will help me to have an advantage next year?

Thank you!

Max.Planck

2. jcsd
  3. May 1, 2010 #2
    Re: Preparing_for_ComputerScience

project euler if you're really motivated, but intro courses exist to get you up to speed for the real work.

4. May 1, 2010 #3

My advice would be to do one or more of the following 3:

1) Computer science relies on mathematics and you will very likely need to take some math courses and will definitely need math in your CS courses. Thus one way to prepare is to brush up on your high school math, and possibly start doing some reading on university level math (primarily discrete mathematics, but probably also standard courses like the calculus sequence and linear algebra). Concrete Mathematics by Donald Knuth is a good book, but if you're not motivated to study math by yourself it will probably be hard. Donald Knuth is a great CS author (and computer scientist in general) so in the future you may also want to look at his other works.