1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs US student pining for a Materials Science PhD outside of the US?

1. Oct 19, 2009 #1
    Hello all, I am a student in need of advice. I am a Physics and Applied Math senior at Humboldt State University in California, which I am confident will not open any doors. Over the next 3 months I will be applying for PhD programs in Materials Science, with the goal of obtaining a world-class education and entering industry or forming a startup after graduation. I am really unsure about where to go to accomplish this goal, since I don't have much knowledge concerning the best materials science grad programs out there. I have spent time searching for rankings online, and I could really do with some help from people that know the field and can tell me some information about excellent programs. I have no citizenship or connections outside the continental United States, but I would really prefer to see more of the world while I am still young. My family has no money or connections, so I really would rather not interrupt my educational sequence and be hit with loan collections right now. I am overwhelmed by all of my options (not all of which are feasible), and the rapidly diminishing time frame in which I am working.

Pertinent information about myself:

I want to study meta-materials or nanotechnology. I had an internship at Penn State last Summer working with nanowires, but I am more interested in other areas, which could include metallurgy as well.

My statistics: GPA 3.87, GRE currently 600V/700Q/4.0AW (retaking in a few weeks to hopefully get an 800Q and higher AW), one summer of laboratory and fabrication research, dual major in Physics and Applied Mathematics (mostly mathematical modeling in that regard).