1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Using a custom constructor in a C++ class

1. Nov 6, 2017 #1

diredragon

Gold Member

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am quite new to C++. I have completed my C course and am now taking a C++ course at my college. The first problem i encountered is with classes and custom made constructors. In the first part of the problem I am supposed to create a class with a field which is a dynamic char array for storing numbers like decimal ones. I am also forbidden to use anything but <iostream>. Here is the problem:
    Create a class called Number which stores numbers in a dynamic array (number can be a decimal number) in a way that one digit is one array place. Number of digits is not limited. Implement the constructors Numbers::Numbers(char* nms); and Number::Number(int* part1, int* part2);, where part1 is left of the . and part2 right of the .
    2. Relevant equations
    3. The attempt at a solution

Code (C):

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

class Number {
        char* numarr;

public:
        Number(char* nms) {
            numarr = nms; //Can i do this or do i need to know the length of nms and then allocate numarr?
        }
        Number(int* part1, int* part2) {
            //This is the hard part for me. How do i insert integers into an array digit by digit? Do i convert them to strings?
        }
    };

Also and most important, what is with this dynamic memory? I cant realloc like in C? How do i deal with unknown sizes of dynamic arrays then?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 6, 2017 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Yes, you should do that.