UV-VIS Spectroscopy question

In summary: Hello everyone,I'm quite new to lab work and I have the following question:I'm doing immobilisation on enzymes and I want to quantify how much enzymes is bound to my material after immobilization. I'm using UV-VIS for this.Before the experiment itself I want to a calibration with known enzyme concentrations.After the immobilization I will measure the natant to see how much enzyme is immobilized.I have a question concerning the blanks.In my natant there are severel different compounds (I don't know the exact concentrations) but they don't absorb at the wavelength my protein does.Can I compare my results when I use the same blank for
Lindsayyyy
Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to lab work and I have the following question:

I'm doing immobilisation on enzymes and I want to quantify how much enzymes is bound to my material after immobilization. I'm using UV-VIS for this.

Before the experiment itself I want to a calibration with known enzyme concentrations.
After the immobilization I will measure the natant to see how much enzyme is immobilized.

I have a question concerning the blanks.

In my natant there are severel different compounds (I don't know the exact concentrations) but they don't absorb at the wavelength my protein does.
Can I compare my results when I use the same blank for my calibration measurement (for example some kind of buffer) as well as for my final measurement?

So basically I use a buffer for my calibration to zero my UV VIS and then I use the same zero for my final measurement, will this work?

Thanks for your help

Chemistry news on Phys.org
If you are sure they don't interfere - it shouldn't be a problem. But they can interfere in other ways as well - for example somehow reacting with your enzyme and changing its extinction coefficient.