Variables -- why is typing them in their declarations important?

In summary, variables are declared and typed to help the compiler with error checking and memory allocation.
jackylaucf
Hiya! I am a beginner in programming and I am now having a java course in college... In the first few lessons, we are taught that programming involves declaration of variables and variables are classified into several categories (e.g. int, float, boolean, double, etc.). I wonder why we have to classify the variables. For example, why do we separate int and float? why not we put them into the same category,let say "number"? This question may sound stupid.. but as a beginner, i am really not clear about how the computer works

Thank you so much!

Technology news on Phys.org
jackylaucf said:
Hiya! I am a beginner in programming and I am now having a java course in college... In the first few lessons, we are taught that programming involves declaration of variables and variables are classified into several categories (e.g. int, float, boolean, double, etc.). I wonder why we have to classify the variables. For example, why do we separate int and float? why not we put them into the same category,let say "number"? This question may sound stupid.. but as a beginner, i am really not clear about how the computer works

Thank you so much!

Welcome to the PF.

Declaring the type of each variable helps the compiler to do error checking, and also helps the compiler allocate memory for each variable.

The typing of variable is needed for most programming languages. This avoids having to dynamically convert variables in memory, and if the variable type becomes larger, having to allocate memory, copy and covert the variable, then release the now unused old copy of the variable. Some languages, such as APL, which is interpretive, do perform dynamic typing of variables at the moment they are assigned values or updated.

Last edited: