Vector differential identity proof

• Thread starter _jo_
  • Start date
_jo_
Hi,
I am a engineering student and I am currently upgrading my maths level on my own to follow physics courses. While reading a book, I came across a vector differential identity that I don't manage to prove using index notation.
The identity is the following:
[tex]
\nabla(\vec{A}\cdot\vec{B}) =
\vec{A} \times (\nabla \times \vec{B}) + (\vec{A} \cdot \nabla)\vec{B}
+ \vec{B} \times (\nabla \times \vec{A}) + (\vec{B} \cdot \nabla)\vec{A}
[/tex]
Could you please give me a hint on how to prove this ?
Thank you for your time.

Answers and Replies

lurflurf
Homework Helper
Why do you want to use index notation? In any case what makes this formula a bit strange is that it can be cast into many forms and that is in some sense not the natural one.

For example the identity

[tex]\mathbf{(a\times\nabla)\times b+a\nabla\cdot b=a\times(\nabla\times b)+(a\cdot\nabla)b}[/tex]

shows we can express each of those four terms in terms of the others
also we can chose to use or not use dyatic terms

two links
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=297027
https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=273630

_jo_
Thank you, I wanted to use index notation because it proved really usefull for developping vector identities. But if this identity's proof does not lend itself to this notation, I don't see the necessity to use it.

In one of your links, you posted this:

[tex]
\nabla (\vec{A} \cdot \vec{B}) = \nabla_{\vec{A}}(\vec{A} \cdot \vec{B}) + \nabla_{\vec{B}}(\vec{A} \cdot \vec{B})
[/tex]
[tex]
\nabla_{\vec{A}}(\vec{A} \cdot \vec{B}) = B \times (\nabla \times \vec{A}) + (\vec{B} \cdot \nabla)\vec{A}
[/tex]
[tex]
\nabla_{\vec{B}}(\vec{A} \cdot \vec{B}) = A \times (\nabla \times \vec{B}) + (\vec{A} \cdot \nabla)\vec{B}
[/tex]
[tex]
\nabla(\vec{A}\cdot\vec{B}) =