1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Geometry Vector Functions Searching Video Lecture

1. Jun 12, 2015 #1
    Hi I am studying Differantial Geometry.My textbook is Lipschultz Differantia Geometry and I am in chapter two.I undersand the basic idea of Vector function but I wanI to gain more information.Is there any video lectures about vector functions.I found this http://ocw.mit.edu/resources/res-18...ture-1-vector-functions-of-a-scalar-variable/ but its look like old.Is this MIT lecture is enough to understand vector functions.If you know book which one is best for me.
    Thanks
    Edit :I found these thing too
    http://cosmolearning.org/courses/unsw-vector-calculus-546/video-lectures/
    https://math.berkeley.edu/~hutching/teach/53videos.html

Last edited: Jun 12, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 12, 2015 #2

ChrisVer

Gold Member

Well I think a calculus book might help, I don't know exactly what are you looking for.
    A vector function is a function that is also a vector :-p (tautology).
    An example is the force in the 2nd Newton's law:
    [itex] \vec{F}(t) = m \vec{a}(t)= m a_x(t) \hat{x} + m a_y(t) \hat{y} + m a_z(t) \hat{z}[/itex]

Or another example is the ballistic trajectory of a cannon ball that moves into the gravitational field (which is a parabola), when thrown at an angle [itex]\theta[/itex] with respect to the horizontal axis with some initial velocity [itex]u_0[/itex]:
    [itex] \vec{x}(t) = t u_0 \cos \theta \hat{x} + \big(t u_0 \sin \theta - \frac{1}{2} gt^2\big) \hat{y}[/itex].

4. Jun 12, 2015 #3