Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Visible light reflection v.s X-Ray reflection

1. Nov 30, 2016 #1
    I'm a bit new to studying physics so I hope this question doesn't sound off. I already know this

"Photons are emitted from an atom when an electron transitions from one state to a lower-energy state. The energy of the emitted photon equal to the difference in energy between the two states."

1. This makes me wonder, if you were somehow able to permanently increase the mass of Protons and Electrons enough(or have an atom with electrons that had huge state differences), would the energy difference in the lower and higher states of the electrons be able to create and reflect X-Rays or photons with greater energy than visible light?

2. If the size of protons and electrons were large enough would visible light pass through unaltered?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 30, 2016 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

I don't understand this at all. We can already emit x-ray from atomic transition. Many x-ray sources used in your doctor's office do this.

The problem of "reflection" is totally different than simply having atoms that have that kind of transition. x-ray "mirrors" is difficult to create not because atoms do not have such a transition. They do. Rather, "mirrors" are solid, bulk material. The phenomenon of "reflection" requires the formation of the solid and the kind of band structure and vibrational modes present in the solid.

Besides, why can't you simply have Bragg reflection of these x-rays?

Zz.

4. Nov 30, 2016 #3
    I guess the mystery that i'm wondering about is if elements could exist that transmit visible light 100% due to having an energy level too high to absorb it. Similar to the way radio waves move through walls.

5. Nov 30, 2016 #4

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor