Visuals confuse me, but I'm good at math - help with mechanics resources?

In summary, the conversation discusses a student who is struggling with their first major's physics course due to its heavy focus on diagrams and physical intuition. They have had difficulty with certain aspects of calculus and geometry in the past, and are looking for resources to help them better understand the concepts. The conversation also suggests practicing visualization skills through activities like playing chess or taking drafting classes.
kepherax
Hiya. I'm an undergrad taking my first major's physics course in mechanics (calc based, but not much calc involved thus far), and I am fairly lost. Straight A's in calc 1-3, currently in differential equations math wise and doing well, but having problems with the physics course because it is so diagram oriented and I lack physical intuition (prof is all visual also).

The only part of any calc I had an issue with were washers/shells and the triple integral set ups where one needed to use a visual to set up the equation, and I hated geometry - I seem to have a disconnect and cease to understand anything if I have to interpret this way.

Are there any resources that will just take you step by step (here is the equation sequence that led up to this point with the logical connections, these are the steps and where they were obtained from in the diagram, explain it to me like I'm 5 and don't assume I'm going to get any concept connection when looking at a picture).

I'm good at pattern recognition, once I get it I get it and can fly through the math, but everything so far has given me a headache as it is not explained in a way I grok. Are there any physics books or resources that might help? If it's *just* explained straight forwardly and logically versus as being tied to reality I tend to get it more - no issues with equations of motion, for instance, but I had to ignore the conceptual and get the mathematical first.