1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Want to do something meaningful in life

1. Sep 16, 2014 #1

DREAMWALKER

Gold Member

Dark Side:

I am a 28 year old advertising professional. I am extremely upset with the course my profession has taken. I feel unwanted in my office. I hate what I am doing for a living. On the other hand, I am extremely bad with numbers and math in particular.

Bright Side:

I love physics. And philosophy. I'm writing a Sci-fi novel. I want to do something meaningful in life.

Any suggestions, on how to go about starting my course to this beautiful world of Quantum Physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 16, 2014 #2

Rocket50

Gold Member

Go back to university?

4. Sep 16, 2014 #3

DREAMWALKER

Gold Member

That's rather a scary scenario. I have a wife and my retired parents to take care of. Is there any way I can achieve my goals while on a job(I don't like one bit)?

5. Sep 16, 2014 #4

Rocket50

Gold Member

You might be able to study in a university (or community college) and do a job, but it might be too difficult. Honestly if your objective is to simply learn and enjoy physics, you can do that on your own. However, it seems like you want to learn physics and get a job in it. You probably won't get one without a degree.

6. Sep 16, 2014 #5

DREAMWALKER

Gold Member

Ah..this job bit is a little troubling. As of now, I just want to learn and enjoy it yes. Honestly the amount of math in it is giving me nightmares even if I were to give up everything for it ..

So where do we begin?

7. Sep 16, 2014 #6

Rocket50

Gold Member

OK, learning on your own isn't too difficult if you have enough motivation. What is your current level in mathematics and physics?

8. Sep 16, 2014 #7

DREAMWALKER

Gold Member