1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wanting to become a High School Math teacher [Advice needed]

1. Apr 18, 2013 #1
    Hello,

I graduated from University in 2009 with a business degree but have decided that wasnt for me. I want to be a teacher and secondary math seems like the best path to take [higher demand & tutoring opportunities]

While I never was a genius in school, I did alright (mostly B's with a few A's & C's here and there) with never really trying, caring, or studying.

I understand this will not be easy and will take ALOT of studying and work, but I am confident in my abilities and when I put my mind to doing something I do it.

With that said, I gonna be starting from the ground up and going back over EVERYTHING. I am looking for 2 books on each subject. 1st book that covers all the basics and explains things easily and clear (Practical Algebra?). Then a 2nd book that goes into a lot more depth. Which books would you recommend?

Any other advice will be much appreciated as well.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Books - you should obtain copies of the secondary curriculae for the areas of interest.

Other advice:
    Go to college and obtain a secondary teaching qualification.
    The jurisdiction in which you want to do this is very important - different countries etc have different expectations and rules. Without this, specific advise will be questionable at best.

4. Apr 18, 2013 #3
    I am doing an online Alternative Certification Program through the University of West Florida. I finish it this summer and then plan to start studying for 8 months until I take the state of Florida's teaching licensing exams in December / January.