Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Wave-particle duality and my non-physicist friend

1. Jan 21, 2015 #1
    Hi, I'm a vet with an amateur interest in physics. In discussion with a friend about the usefulness of physics he stated that physicists had not even decided whether light was a wave or a particle. I said the following:

'The question of whether light is a wave or particle is not one which really troubles modern physicists. A photon is not something we can describe in terms of things we humans can see with our eyes. If you do an experminent to see if light is a wave, it is; if you do the same for particles, it is too. Quantum physics tells us that photons are quanta of electromagnetic waves, so if you were to twist my arm I'd say it is a particle which has emergent wavelike properties. Photons are described by wavefunctions and governed by quantum amplitudes; these are complex numbers and as such have a magnitude and also a phase. This phase rotates as time goes on and gives rise to an illusion of wavelike behaviour.'

Was I taking crap?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 21, 2015 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

A photon is a particle only in the quantum field theoretical sense. This is not what you would tend to call a particle in classical mechanics. A photon is also not a wave.

However, what we call particles in QFT are objects that have some properties reminiscent of waves and some that are reminiscent of classical particles.

My short answer would have been that it is neither, but it has some properties that we typically ascribe to particles and waves.

4. Jan 21, 2015 #3

bhobba

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You can also see our FAQ:
    https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/is-light-a-wave-or-a-particle.511178/