Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What does it mean if a transformation is 'linear'?

1. Jul 12, 2009 #1
    Many authors seem to start deriving the Lorentz transformations (for a motions only in one direction) by first stating that the transformation equations have to be linear, and I am always lost at this part. What do they mean by that? How does "a uniform rectilinear motion in K must also be uniform and rectilinear in K' " explain that?

Many thanks in advance for the help and apologies if this has been raised many times. :smile:

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 12, 2009 #2
    well, I'm no expert on this but I think I know what it means to be linear, let [itex]x_i (i=0,2,3,4)[/itex] be the space time coordantes, then if the new coordenates are [itex]x^{'}_i[/itex] we have
    [tex]x^{'}_i=\sum_k a_{ik}x_k[/tex]
    where a_ik do not depend on the space time coordenates.
    However I do have a question on the linearity issue and I think I will initiate a thread on that.

4. Jul 12, 2009 #3

malawi_glenn

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

facenian is correct, but one can also have a shift in constant, e.g.

[tex]
    x\acute{}_i=\sum_k a_{ik}\,x_k \,+ \, b_i
    [/tex]

5. Jul 14, 2009 #4
    The term linear comes from linear algebra.

A transformation T is called linear if

(1) aT(u) = T(au)

(2) T(u+v) = T(u) + T(v).

Property (1) means that if you double the distance in one frame, then the distance doubles in the other.

Suppose the direction "up" transforms to "north" and "left" translates to "west". Property (2) then says walking up and to the left in one frame is the same as walking north and to the west in the other.