Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What happens in the middle of a Feynmann Diagram?

1. Dec 4, 2006 #1
    I'm a high school student and I've been recently learning about feynmann diagrams and I've always wondered what happens in the intermediate stage in a feynmann diagram. i.e the step in between when a neutron turns into a proton and the emergance of a boson. I've tried asking my physics teacher but he says he doesn't know so it will be interesting to learn some theories about what could be happening.
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2006 #2
    Are you referring to a beta-decay?

4. Dec 4, 2006 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Er... what process exactly are you describing here? A neutron going into a proton and a "boson"? What boson?

This isn't a beta decay, where a neutron becomes a proton, electron, and anti-neutrino. So you need to explain what particular process you are refering to.

5. Dec 4, 2006 #4

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, with some indulgence, one can consider that it is a weak process where we have the neutron turning in a proton and a (virtual) W- boson, which then immediately (or almost so) turns into an electron+anti-neutrino, in lowest order.

That said, on this level I don't think that there is any distinguishable means to see any effect of the W- ; in other words a point interaction would be just as good.
  6. Dec 4, 2006 #5

Science Advisor

Excellent question. The real answer is we don't know. In fact, a basic assumption of particle physics(and Feynman diagrams) is that so-called three point interactions are the basic driving force behind particle physics. That is, we assume that particle -> particle transformations can occur, and then see what the consequences are. This assumption of transformations is, of course, empirically based.

Reilly Atkinson
  7. Dec 4, 2006 #6