1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What is a impressive salary for an Electrical Engineer

1. Sep 8, 2011 #1
    what would you consider an impressive and or respectable salary (range) for an Electrical Engineer with 12 years of experience?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2011 #2
    Respectable would be ~130k/yr. Impressive would be 10 million/yr.

4. Sep 9, 2011 #3
    Respectable for me would be $110k - 115k but I live in a really cheap area of the country (nice new construction at mid $90 a square foot, etc) and I may be biased because I have 7 years experience and that is about the course I am on.

5. Sep 9, 2011 #4
  6. Sep 11, 2011 #5
    There is much more to the equation than just salary. There are benefits, living conditions, travel, job security, and so on.

The places that offer lower salaries often have much better job security, and decent benefits. Frequent travel may seen exciting when you're younger, but as a family grows, it can really get in the way.

So when discussing 12 years of experience --a lot can happen in 12 years. Your priorities change. Your needs change. If you are an independent contractor, I'd aim to change $200/hr. based upon the notion that you won't be working all the time and you'll need the reserve to tide you over during the dry spells where work may be scarce.

Likewise, you could easily find yourself making less than that if you happen to be working in a company that values longevity and job security. It all depends on what you want. I've been working for the same employer for over 25 years, and I don't make the kind of money that others have quoted. Nevertheless, I have something that many engineers would love: a rock-steady job and interesting work, with occasional travel if I really want it.

It is all about a balance...