1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

What Mathematics would be useful for Applied Physics?

1. Jun 25, 2011 #1
    I am an undergraduate working towards a degree in Engineering Physics at Berkeley and I want to go to graduate school in Applied Physics, probably specializing in electronics.

I have plenty of math major friends and they tell me all the time about how they keep running into physics majors in their classes. I was wondering what mathematics courses would be useful for someone planning to head in the direction I am heading in?

I have completed calculus up to mulitvariable, lower division linear algebra and differential equations (They are lumped together in one semester at my school), and a year of math methods for physical scientists (First semester was things like complex numbers, applications of taylor series, and fourier series and transform. Second semester was basic PDE's: variational calculus, basic attempts at symmetry solutions, forbenius series, eigenvalue problems and the like).

My math major friends tell me I should take upper division linear algebra and real analysis. One even suggests abstract algebra because his professor says it is crucial to quantum field theory. I personally feel very comfortable with not needing linear algebra after taking Quantum Mechanics but I'm not sure about the others.

Just for the sake of being thorough, the classes that I am currently considering are:
    -Real Analysis (It is mandatory for the ODE course and I hear it is necessary for graduate PDE. Also a prereq for differential geometry and complex)
    -Linear Algebra (People say it is very hard to get by in the more rigorous upper division math classes without this class)
    -Numerical Analysis
    -Complex Analysis