What quality is most important for engineers

In summary: Creativity is important, but I think it's more important to have engineering intuition. You need to be able to see the problem before it happens and be able to solve it.
k4br0ntx
Creativity?
Math Intellect?
Other?

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends. I think the most important quality is engineering intuition. Recognizing what you are seeing, and what to do with it.

Can you please elaborate? I love math and data. However I'm not good with "hands on" things.

Me neither. That's why I left engineering, plus it became boring to me.

Intuition is the ability to quickly identify the problem, and by searching your knowledge be able to find a possible solution, perhaps sketch a solution. Later, you may open books or search for papers to finalize the solution.

What do you do now?

k4br0ntx said:
What do you do now?

I changed to Economics.

Zero hands on, and bunch of math :biggrin:

That sounds interesting. Is the money good in economics?

k4br0ntx said:
That sounds interesting. Is the money good in economics?

Yes, but it is better for PhD graduates.

It's the imagination, followed by ability to quantify things

I'm simply a co-op engineer working with other engineers, but the two attributes I've found to be most important in other engineers I've seen are humility and dedication. If you have graduated with a BS, it proves you can figure out the types of problems you're given. But it doesn't necessarily qualify you as a 'team player'. The engineers I've seen who are willing to help others, take criticism with a positive attitude, and work hard seem to be the happiest and succeed the most. That's just what I've seen, anyways. And they're the ones I like spending the most time around, and I ask them questions when I need help. The 'sensitive' or 'touchy' engineers who refuse to take correction can be very difficult to work with.