What sort of summer job should I get?

In summary, the speaker is a first year undergraduate majoring in physics and mathematics who plans on applying for internships or research positions in the near future. They are looking to obtain a summer job to enhance their CV and are seeking advice on the best type of job that would reflect well on their applications. The speaker has no specific preferences for the job but only intends to work during the summer. The conversation suggests that programming related jobs, such as those involving MATLAB, Java, or C/C++, would be a good option. Another suggestion is to work in a student tutoring center, which would be relevant to math and physics but may be more available during regular semesters. The speaker is advised to avoid food service jobs as they may not be as
istari
I am currently a first year undergraduate majoring in physics and mathematics. I plan on applying to several different physics (and possibly math) internships/undergraduate research position next year. Before I begin applying I would however like to 'beef up' my CV, so I plan on obtaining some sort of summer job. What do you think would be the best sort of job that would reflect well on me when I begin applying for physics positions? I have no real preference, but I do only intend to take it as a summer job (as in I doubt I will continue when the fall term begins).

Physics news on Phys.org
The most plentiful would probably be programming related jobs so it would be good if you had some MATLAB, Java or C/C++ in your pocket.