1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Whats Possible with a B.S in physics?

1. Dec 11, 2008 #1
    I am a HS student looking to major in Physics in college. After reading some posts I am wondering what kind of jobs there are with a B.S physics. Could I work in the oil drilling or nuclear field? I am also thinking of maybe majoring in Geology, what do you think a bout a geology major?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 11, 2008 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Account to perhaps not zoo keeper, but certainly something beginning with z ;-)
    Physics is the basis of most science, so physicists work in everything form oceanography, atmospheric, geology, car/plane/ship design, software plus a lot of non technical jobs that require analytical and numerate skills. A lot of physicists work on Wall St.

Except for some chemical engineers i think most people in nuclear have a physics background.
    As for oil, Schlumberger's research lab is opposite the Cavendish Lab in Cambridge - this is not a coincidence.

It will pretty much guarantee you a job on graduation - but the range of careers might be more limited than with a physics degree.

My recommendation would generally be to do a more 'pure science degree and then either a masters in a specialty like geology or just get a job in that area.

4. Dec 11, 2008 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Have you thought about geophysics? It's a great way to combine interests in physics and geology and the jobs prospects are great (or at least they were a few years ago - I haven't personally spoken with any geophysicists in a while).

5. Dec 11, 2008 #4