Whats Possible with a B.S in physics?

• Thread starter glennpagano44
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, as a high school student looking to major in Physics in college, you may be wondering about the job opportunities available with a B.S. in physics. Physics is the basis of most sciences, so physicists can work in a variety of fields such as oceanography, atmospheric science, geology, design, software development, and even on Wall Street. With a physics background, you could potentially work in the oil drilling or nuclear field, as many companies in these industries employ physicists. However, if you are interested in a more specialized career in geology, you may want to consider a major in geophysics, which combines both physics and geology. Keep in mind that if you want to pursue research in physics, you will likely
glennpagano44
I am a HS student looking to major in Physics in college. After reading some posts I am wondering what kind of jobs there are with a B.S physics. Could I work in the oil drilling or nuclear field? I am also thinking of maybe majoring in Geology, what do you think a bout a geology major?

Physics news on Phys.org
glennpagano44 said:
I am wondering what kind of jobs there are with a B.S physics.
Account to perhaps not zoo keeper, but certainly something beginning with z ;-)
Physics is the basis of most science, so physicists work in everything form oceanography, atmospheric, geology, car/plane/ship design, software plus a lot of non technical jobs that require analytical and numerate skills. A lot of physicists work on Wall St.

Could I work in the oil drilling or nuclear field?
Except for some chemical engineers i think most people in nuclear have a physics background.
As for oil, Schlumberger's research lab is opposite the Cavendish Lab in Cambridge - this is not a coincidence.

I am also thinking of maybe majoring in Geology, what do you think a bout a geology major?