1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Where should I apply? PhD in Applied Mathematics

1. Sep 5, 2012 #1
    Hello, I am currently in my final year at a California State University majoring in Mathematics (Applied track) and minoring in computer science. I've begun lurking forums such as the physics to figure out what sort of programs I am qualified to apply for, and what be good opportunities as well as available funding.

Here is some of my academic background:

GPA: 3.79
    Math GPA: 3.92
    GRE - 159 Q / 150 V / ?? A (Took it two days ago, I don't do standardized tests well)

Significant courses taken:
    Calculus I-IV - B, A, A, A, respectively.
    Ordinary Differential Equations - A
    Linear Algebra - A
    Sets & Logic (First Proof-based course) - A
    Complex Variables - A
    Intro to Real Analysis - A
    Numerical Analysis - A

Programming Fundamentals (C/C++) - A
    Data Structures & Algorithms (C/C++) - A
    Discrete Structures - A
    Computer Networks - A

Left to take: Into to PDEs, Probability Theory, Abstract Algebra I, Intro to Real Analysis II (Measure Theory), and possibly a Mathematical Modeling course, Advanced Linear Algebra Course, and/or more computer science courses.

Undergraduate Research:
    Participated in a NSF-funded REU this summer where I worked on Mathematical Modeling involving Fluid Dynamics (Solved large PDEs using Mathematica and Perturbation methods). Also currently doing a reading course involving Pseudorandom Sequences with a professor at my university and eventually going to have a project to work on and finish hopefully by the end of my last year.