1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Where to study for UG Physics? (from India)

1. Mar 22, 2016 #1
    Hello to everyone out there!
    Let me explain my situation. I am currently studying in India, with my Final year of high-school left to complete. I have been interested in Physics since Glade 7, fascinated with phenomenons like Quantum tunneling and Entanglemnet(thanks to Science Fiction for that :-p). Now I have decided to get myself involved in research in Physics in future.
    My problem: I personally don't believe that doing BSc Physics in India is a good choice(You can comment about that too; open for suggestions). So I am planning to go overseas for this. But I can't figure out clearly how to select the university/college for my studies. So can you help me in deciding about that?Is there any colleges you recommend? If so, why?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 22, 2016 #2
    one should not underestimate the 'physics studies in India'- in the sense that there are good IIT's offering physics courses and some leading universities - but as you opted for overseas then try for the leading ones-internationally.

4. Mar 22, 2016 #3
    While I am still a school student, IISc (Indian Institute of Sciences) offers a pretty renowned research-oriented UG course (which should help in an academic career). CMI and IISER's also have UG courses in physics (CMI has a joint physics-mathematics UG course). Apart from the IIT's mentioned above, these are some options in India.

5. Mar 22, 2016 #4
    Also note that amongst IITs, IIT Kanpur and IIT Madras have strong and reputed physics departments. CMI, IISc and IISERs, as mentioned above, are very good options to pursue UG in physics.

6. Mar 23, 2016 #5
    Thanks to all here for the reply :-).