Why does Matter cause inertia?

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between matter, inertia, and the Higgs Field. It is argued that matter does not cause inertia, but rather it is a property of matter. The limitations of physics in explaining the nature of matter and its properties are also mentioned.
Thomas Eaton
So, one of my friends posed this question to me, with some background on vibrations on the Higgs Field, But, he also said that doesn't explain why matter causes inertia. As, if that accepted theory is true, it should simply create big, choppy waves. I apologize if my writing is confusing, and I thank those that take the time to answer this question.

Physics news on Phys.org
I don't think it's right to say matter causes inertia, but rather that inertia is a property of matter Similarly, matter doesn't cause length but rather length is a property of matter. So ... inertia isn't "caused" any more than length is.

Now, I'm no expert on these kind of fundamental questions so it could be that one of our more knowledgeable members will jump in with something better.

Likes Bystander, russ_watters, vanhees71 and 1 other person
I think, it's already the complete answer. Physics just describes nature, it cannot explain why nature is the way it is. As phinds points out the observables we assign to phenomena are just quantified properties of these phenomena. They have been found to be useful to describe nature and that's why we use them.

Likes LLT71 and russ_watters

1. What is inertia and how does matter play a role?

Inertia is the property of matter that resists changes in its state of motion. Matter plays a role in inertia because it has mass, which is a measure of its resistance to changes in motion. The more mass an object has, the more inertia it has.

2. Why does matter have inertia?