Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why is weak nuclear bosons carry the isospin charge?

1. Jun 19, 2013 #1
    The leptons and hadrons carry the weak isospin charge. What allows the weak bosons do carry the charge? Is it because they have a mass?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 19, 2013 #2

king vitamin

Gold Member

It doesn't have to do with mass - notice that the gluons are massless but they carry color charge. When you consider non-abelian gauge theories (theories where the gauge symmetry is more complicated than that of electromagnetism), your gauge bosons must always carry charge and self-interact.

4. Jun 20, 2013 #3
    Did you mean weak hypercharge or weak isospin?

5. Jun 20, 2013 #4
    King Vitamin,
    Thank you for the answer. I am new to particle physics, I am just finishing Deep Down Things from Schaumm. I knew that non-abelian gauge describes the self-interaction; so you are saying that it does not only describes it, but it takes its source, its causation in the non-abelian nature. I will need to dive into gauge theory. Any good introduction book(s), well explained with examples you can recommand? Thanks

Andrien,
    I mean the weak isospin.

6. Jun 20, 2013 #5
  7. Jun 20, 2013 #6
    Thank you Andrien

8. Jun 20, 2013 #7

king vitamin

Gold Member

Well I'd be careful saying that one "causes" the other, they're both aspects of the same theory.

There are two ways to approach non-abelian gauge theory. The most common way (and historically the first) is to begin in analogy to electromagnetism, but insist on your particles transforming in a larger gauge group than in EM. One finds that this theory requires gauge bosons (massless, spin-1), and that their transformations require a self-interaction with a coupling related to the coupling to other particles.