Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Why when two conductors connected by a conducting wire gain the same potential . ?

1. May 8, 2012 #1
    Why when two charged conductors connected by a conducting wire gain the same potential .
    Lets say we have two spheres of different charges why when we connect them by a single copper wire they gain the same potential
    Thanks in advance

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2012 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

hi nishantve1! :wink:

tell us what you think, and then we'll comment! :smile:

4. May 8, 2012 #3
    Re: Why when two conductors connected by a conducting wire gain the same potential .

I am new to Electrostatics , first of all I have no idea but still what I am able to figure out is maybe the charges on both become equal but I see thats not much to do with the potential or is it am I right ?

5. May 8, 2012 #4

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

ok, well, always start with the definitions, then write out all the equations you know, and see if any of them help …

(btw, that is why the pf homework template requires you to write out the equations first, and please post in the homework sub-forum in future)

DEFINITION:

what is electric potential?

what does it do?​

EQUATIONS:

what equations do you know for electric potential?​

6. May 8, 2012 #5
    Re: Why when two conductors connected by a conducting wire gain the same potential .

Sorry , next time I will definitely post in homework sub forum

Electric potential I know is Work done per charge in bringing it from infinity to a point .
    Electric potential is Like gravitational potential it The closer a test charge is to a electric field source more potential energy it has and thus more Electric potential .
    Electrons flow from higher to lower potential thats what makes electricity flow

V(a) - V(b) = integral from a to b E.dl