1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Worth it or not?: Bertrand Russell's Principia Mathematica

1. May 8, 2012 #1
    Worth it or not?: Bertrand Russell's "Principia Mathematica"

Evening,

As a physics undergrad, I feel that my understanding of mathematics is lacking – not in terms of how to do something, but in terms of why you'd do something. For example, why take the integral of Schrödinger's Equation? Why not derive it? Why derive velocity to find acceleration? (These are examples so you can see where I'm coming from)

So because of this, I'm interested in purchasing Principia Mathematica by one of my favorite philosophers, Bertrand Russell. Is it a worthy purchase? Will it help me understand the concepts, or is there anyone book you recommend?

Thanks for your help,
    Daniel

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2012 #2

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. May 8, 2012 #3
    Re: Worth it or not?: Bertrand Russell's "Principia Mathematica"

I think Bertrand Russell is one of the greatest minds of the last two centuries and all his books are worth reading

even more than once, but his Principia is a very, overwhelmingly technical book. I don't think there are lots of people

who read it completely. You better check first what it is about before you buy it to read it, though I guess

it could be an important book for consultations for logicians.

DonAntonio

5. May 8, 2012 #4

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor