1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Intro Physics Is Halliday/Resnick: "Fundamentals of Physics"? good for me?

1. Jul 15, 2016 #1
    Hello there!

I'm a 17 year old high school student entering grade 12 in September, and I'm looking for something to quench my thirst for physics during my summer break. I have 6 weeks of vacation at the moment, and am currently teaching myself how to do calculus with hopes of working through AP calculus BC books. I wanted a calculus-based physics book that I can read alongside with what I'm studying, so I can hopefully learn more about physics, and apply the mathematics I've learned in a practical use. I was considering Halliday/Resnick: "Fundamentals of Physics", as it is calculus based, but I'm wondering if it's right for me.
    My most recent physics course was grade 11, in which we covered kinematics, forces, waves and sound, electricity and magnetism, and work and energy. As for calculus, I will be going through mostly the grade 12 material involving geometric and Cartesian vectors, derivatives, rates of change, exponential and logarithmic functions, and lines and planes, which are all at a high school level.

I was wondering, if I were to purchase this book for my own reading, would I be able to understand the concepts discussed with my current knowledge and background? If not, what other books would you recommend to suit my current situation?

Thanks so much!

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2016 #2