Your most favorite Beethoven sonata?

• Thread starter Rach3
  • Start date
I want to get the Rostropovich one, and the Starker one. And the Tortelier one. And the DuPre one. And the Maisky one. And the Yo-Yo Ma one. And the Fournier one. And the Casals one. And the Bylsma one. And the Kliegel one. And the Wispelwey one. And the Kliegel one. And the Tortelier one. And the DuPre one. And the Maisky one. And the Yo-Yo Ma one. And the Fournier one. And the Casals one. And the Bylsma one. And the Klie
Rach3
If you have one?

edit: I meant to include a poll. Oops! In retrospect it would have been useless anyway.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm relatively new to western classical. So at the moment I have to say "Emperor" since this is the only one I have heard, and that too only once. :biggrin: I may change my opinion in a few months!

EDIT: Here's proof for what I said in the first sentence...Emperor is a concerto. :blushing: :redface:

Last edited:
I don't have any of his Sonata's, although I am 100% sure I have heard them all. So I can't say.

EDIT: Ahh, I only have one on my computer. It's a guitar. Its quite nice.

Dan na na na na dun na na nan a dunnn na na na na dunn an de dun. Eh, you know what I mean. (It's not his 5th symphony that I am humming, though you might think it sounds like it)

Now I am listening to the Egmont Overture.

Last edited:
My favourite :

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor Op. 57, 'Appassionata'

About this work : when Beethoven presented it to his "boss" he was so angry because the guy gave some comments Beethoven did not like. He answered : There will be kings and princes for ever, but there will only be ONE Beethoven.

The "Emperor" is not a sonata , it is a pianoconcerto.

marlon

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor Op. 57, 'Appassionata'
Oh, yes, that one is my favorite as well. Of course, Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, "Moonlight Sonata" is a pretty good too. :biggrin:

Rach3 said:
If you have one?