Struct array memory layout of the elements

In summary: The compiler will automatically multiply the index value by the sizeof(Person) and add that result to the pointer.Another thing to watch out for is the order of the fields in the structure. The compiler may add padding between fields, depending on the type of each field and the platform being used (x86, x64, PowerPC, etc.). You can use the sizeof operator to determine the size of a structure, but sometimes you have to pad a structure to ensure that the compiler doesn't add its own padding.I'm curious, did you get the correct answer? ;-)In summary, the conversation discussed the creation of a data structure and the need for help with understanding memory layout and addresses of its elements. The person asking the question also
Sumaya
hi every one ,

i am new in data structure course

i need help in this :

Code:
Struct Person 
{
Char name[20];
int id;
float gpa;
};
Person student[5];

Compute the addresses of all the elements of array student and show a memory layout for the array if the address of the first element is 0x0012FF1A.

some what i did :
i did account that there is 28 bytes = 1c in hex
and i know that i have to add 1C to the address 0x0012FF1A and i think i'll get 0x0012FF36

my problem is if the first address 0x0012FF1A is the address for the first byte student[0]

so should i keep adding 1C to the previous address until i arrive to student[5]

just wondering and also how it is look like the memory layout . is there 28 bytes between every array like between student[0] and student[1]

thanx alot

Last edited by a moderator:
Technology news on Phys.org
First note that most compilers by default put each member on a word or long boundary, especially if you have speed optimization enabled. You can override that with certain compiler directives (like 'pack') or command line options. However it looks like each member in that struct is already a multiple of longs, so it should already be packed.